About NAFC

The National Aerial Firefighting Centre (NAFC) was formed by the Australian States and Territories in July 2003 to provide a cooperative national arrangement for combating bushfires. It achieves this by facilitating the coordination and procurement of a fleet of highly specialised firefighting aircraft that are readily available for use by State and Territory emergency service and land management agencies across Australia.

This national aircraft fleet complements aerial firefighting resources that are arranged directly by the States and Territories. The National Fleet receives funding support from the Australian Government as well as State and Territory Governments.

NAFC also plays a key role in ensuring the sharing of aerial firefighting resources between emergency service and land management agencies throughout Australia, and in the development of national protocols and systems for aerial firefighting.

Australian Capital Territory
Northern Territory
State of New South Wales
State of Queensland
State of South Australia
State of Tasmania
State of Victoria
State of Western Australia

Ms Collene Bremner, A/Executive Director Bushfires NT
Mr Gary Gifford, Assistant Commissioner – Operations Capability, Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Western Australia
Mr Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM, Commissioner, New South Wales Rural Fire Service
Mr Chris Arnol, Chief Officer, Tasmania Fire Service
Mr Dominic Lane, Commissioner, Australian Capital Territory Emergency Services Agency
Mr Greg Nettleton, Chief Officer and Chief Executive Officer, South Australian Country Fire Service
Mr Steven Warrington, Chief Fire Officer, Victorian Country Fire Authority
Mr Michael Wassing AFSM, Deputy Commissioner, Queensland Fire and Emergency Services